July 17, 2008

Senate Votes to Lift HIV Ban

On July 16, 2008, the U.S. Senate voted to lift the current ban on those with HIV from visiting and/or immigrating to the United States. HIV is the only disease that is explicitly listed under immigration law and only approximately a dozen countries still have such a ban. Some of those countries include Saudia Arabia, Sudan, Libya, and Russia. Click here to see how your Senators voted.

Click here to read an article on CBS News about the possible lift of the HIV ban.

By Michelle Richart